The Honey Rock Melon

I work with a girl who has more food allergies than I ever thought possible. I am completely fancinated because rather than substituting fake and processed blah-blah, she chooses to eat various unique fruits and vegetables. Quick side note– I still don’t understand why someone would buy something like vegan “cheese”. If you are vegan- why the heck do you want cheese anyway? Now, back to my coworker. We are constantly talking about what we each cooked for dinner the night before and I am always blown away with the things that she cooks. She uses vegetables I have never heard of. She mixes ingredients I would have never thought to mix. Seriously, this girl needs to write a cook book.
I use the same vegetables almost every week and eat the same fruit as snacks on almost every occasion, so I have decided to challenge myself to buy atleast one fruit and one vegetable every week that I have never had or have never cooked before. This week I purchased a Honey Rock Melon.

I had really high expectations and was hoping that it would taste significantly different than your average cantelope, but it really didn’t. It was much bigger though, so I did get more for my money.

I am looking forward to trying spaghetti squash for the first time on Monday night. I will post of my reaction later this next week! I hope everyone is having a great weekend so far!

2 thoughts on “The Honey Rock Melon

  1. Spaghetti squash is great , but the key is to make sure you cook it long enough. Cut it the long way in half, scoop out the seeds and place it in 1/2 inch of water (pulp side down) and microwave it for 5-7 minutes on high. You want is really soft so it scoops out easily. Add your favorite sauce and it is great. It also tastes good with butter and parmasean cheese. Good luck! Anne

  2. The spaghetti squash is a healthy substitute for pasta. You can also use it in the traditional spaghetti pie and other recipes. The good news for some of us is that it is much lower in calories than pasta, but if you are fixing it for a construction guy add plenty of cheese and or meat to “beef up” the calories.

    Anne is correct, you do have to make sure it is done, however, I find it may take up to 10-12 minutes depending on the size of the squash. You can check it for doneness by pressing on the skin side for softness. Once you scoop it out, if you think it needs to be cooked a little more, you can pop it back in the micro and test it every few minutes.
    Let us know how it turns out!
    Nana

Leave a Response

